Lot # 114: 1955-1959 Four Different Nippon Series Commemorative Belt Buckles

Starting Bid: $100.00

Bids: 1 (Bid History)

Time Left: Auction closed
Lot / Auction Closed

This lot is closed. Bidding is not allowed.

Item was in Auction "Auction 57: Ended 4/25/2020",
which ran from 4/8/2020 4:00 PM to
4/25/2020 11:00 PM

The Nippon Series (or Japan Series) matched the Japanese Central League Champion against the Pacific League Champion in a seven game post season matchup, just like the World Series in the U.S. During the period from 1955-1959. all five of these fall classics featured the Yomiuri Giants against various Pacific League opponents, with the Giants winning the championship in 1955. The Nishitetsu Lions were winners in 1956, 1957 and 1958, and the Nankai Hawks won the 1959 series. These four metal belt buckles were presented to dignitaries to commemorate the Japan Series of 1955, 1956, 1957 and 1959. The year of issue is embossed or engraved directly on each buckle, with the 1955 inscription being part of the front design, and the other years being placed on the reverse side. We have no idea as to the person who was originally presented with these buckles. In any case, we have never seen Nippon Series buckles from these years before, so we expect that they were produced in limited quantities.

Size: Each belt buckle is approximately 1 1/4" x 1 1/2".

Condition: Range--G to Nm. Average Condition: Vg/Ex to Ex.

Views: 55